Zimbabwe Cricket Announce Interim Selection Panel

A three-man panel will select Zimbabwe's squad for the triangular T20I series against Australia and Pakistan.

The Zimbabwe Cricket Board have appointed Walter Chawaguta as the convenor of selectors of an interim national selection panel. 

He will be supported on the panel by Kenyon Ziehl and former Zimbabwe captain Prosper Utseya. 

Chawaguta and Ziehl have both previously served as national selectors, while Utseya has a wealth of experience at international level, playing four Tests, 164 ODIs and 35 T20Is between 2004 and 2015. 

Tatenda Taibu was sacked as convenor of selectors in March, along with the entire coaching staff and captain Graeme Cremer, following Zimbabwe's failure to qualify for the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup. 

The panel's first task will be to pick a squad for the home triangular T20I series, also featuring Australia and Pakistan, in July. Zimbabwe will then take on Pakistan in a five-match ODI series. 

Latest in Cricket


Popular this week!