Price To Captain International Team At The Presidents Cup

LEGENDARY Zimbabwean golfer Nick Price will captain the international team in the 2017 President’s Cup set for the Liberty National Golf Club in Jersey City, New Jersey, US.

Price’s team will play against the US, the defending champions who clinched the final point on the final hole to win 15.5 to 14.5 in 2016.

The former world number one golf player will be assisted by Ernie Els, Tony Johnstone, Geoff Ogilvy and Mike Weir.

This year’s tournament will run from September 26 to October 1 and Price and his team of 12 players will be eager to wrestle the title from the host nation.

The first two days consist of five matches of fourball and five matches of  foursomes.

The third day consists of four matches of fourball and four matches of foursomes.

The host team captain will decide the  order, fourball v foursomes, on the first three days.

On the fourth and final day, 12 singles matches will be played. A total of 30 matches will be played in all.

All matches that are all-square after 18 holes will score half a point for each team.

For more than 20 years, the best players from around the world have come together to compete for the prestigious President’s Cup. Presidents and Heads of State have served as honorary chairmen.

Countries like Australia, Canada, South Korea, South Africa and the United States have welcomed the global competition, which has crowned the US team as champions in nine of the 11 events.

The President’s Cup began in 1994, with a competition held at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Prince William County, Virginia, US, and throughout its journey, the world’s best players have come together to compete for team, country and the honour of raising the President’s Cup trophy.

All matches are worth one point each, for a total of 30 points. There are no play-offs, with each side receiving half a point if a match is tied after 18 holes.

In a change inspired by events of the 2003 President’s Cup, if the competition is deadlocked at the end of Singles play, the competition will be deemed a tie and the teams will share the President’s Cup.

Nick Price’s International team for the President’s Cup

Hideki Matsuyama, Jason Day, Adam Scott, Louis Oosthuizen, Marc Leishman, Charl Schwartzel, Branden Grace, Si Woo Kim, Jhonattan Vegas, Adam Hadwin, Emiliano Grillo, Anirban Lahiri.


Latest in Golf


Popular this week!