Byo Chiefs Dominate Southern Region D1 Soccer Stars

PREMIERSHIP bound Bulawayo Chiefs provided the majority of players that will be honoured at the Southern Region Division One Soccer Stars of the Year awards set for Sunday in Bulawayo.

The champions have five players, goalkeeper Kelvin Nyoni, defensive midfielder Takunda Mazuva, as well as the midfield trio of Makhosi Ncube, Arthur Musiiwa and Perfect Chikwende, shortlisted for the awards.

The league’s top goal scorer with 10 goals, Morgan Mungombe of Makomo, Mosi Rovers’ Ndaba Ndlovu, the ZPC Hwange duo of Israel Mukahanana and David Buzabani, Brandon Mpofu of Indlovu Iyanyathela as well as Bosso 90’s Mandla Mnkandla complete the list of stars to be honoured.

Musa Mandaza, the Zifa Southern Region chairman, said the soccer star will be unveiled after the Liquor Hub Marathon on Sunday.

“The awards will be held after the Liquor Hub road race. We’re grateful to our sponsor Raj Modi and his company for his support. Please note that the awards will come a day after the final of the Liquor Hub sponsored John Landa Nkomo Memorial Cup final between Bulawayo Chiefs and Makomo,” said Mandaza.

Chiefs are eyeing a Division One treble, having already won the league championship and the Trukumb Mining Enterprises sponsored Joshua Mqabuko Nkomo Invitational Cup.

The Golden Boot award is being sponsored by Nokel Security, which has been bankrolling the league’s monthly top goal scorer’s accolade.

Chiefs’ gaffer Thulani Sibanda is likely to bag the Coach of the Year award for leading his warriors to go through the season unbeaten.

Southern Region Division One Soccer Stars

Morgan Mungombe (Makomo), Ndaba Ndlovu (Mosi Rovers), Makhosi Ncube, Arthur Musiiwa, Takunda Mazuva, Perfect Chikwende, Kelvin Nyoni (all Bulawayo Chiefs), Israel Mukahanana, David Bizabani (both ZPC Hwange), Brandon Mpofu (Indlovu Iyanyathela), Mandla Mnkandla (Bosso 90).


Latest in Football


Popular this week!